Nominations for 30th Centennial Bell Award

Posted March 4, 2019

For Immediate Release – Friday, March 1, 2019

30th Montana Statehood Centennial Bell Award honoring the Montana History Teacher of the Year, grades 4th-6th.  Nominations due by March 29, 2019.

Montana elementary principals, superintendents, fellow teachers or librarians from public and private schools statewide are requested to nominate a 4th-6th grade teacher in their school who is doing an exemplary job in teaching Montana history during the 2018-2019 school year. 

This is the 30th year the winner will receive the Montana Statehood Centennial Bell Award honoring the Montana History Teacher of the Year. On even numbered years the Award is given to a teacher at the 7th-12th grade level. On odd numbered years it is given to a teacher at the 4th-6th grade level.

Nominations may be emailed to Norma Ashby Smith, Award Coordinator, at [email protected]. Nominations should include the nominator’s name, school, address, phone number, email; student’s name, grade, school, phone number and email address.

Deadline for nominations is March 29, 2019. 

All nominees will receive an entry form with the deadline for returning  their entry May 17, 2019.

Nominated teachers will be asked to submit two letters of support, one from their nominator and one from a student and a one to two page statement detailing why they enjoy teaching Montana history, how they engage their students in learning, how their Montana history course recognizes cultural diversity and anything else they’d like to share about their class or methods. 

The winner and his or her class will be honored at a ceremony in the State Capitol on Friday, Nov. 8, Statehood Day. The winner will receive a plaque and $4,000 toward library and classroom materials, field trips and speakers.

The program is sponsored by the Montana Television Network, the Montana History Foundation and the Sons & Daughters of Montana Pioneers in cooperation with the Montana Historical Society.

Contact Ashby with any questions about the award or the nominations process at 406-453-7078 or at [email protected].