The Faber Schoolhouse was founded in Hill County is 1905. The building was unique to the region because it was a log cabin instead of the frame style that predominated the region. The roof was thought to be the original wood shakes from 1905 and, with over 100 years of deterioration, the roof was in bad shape and only getting worse.
The H. Earl and Margaret Turner Clack Foundation used MHF funds to remove the old roof and replace it with a new cedar shingle roof. The Faber schoolhouse is on display at the Hill County Fairgrounds where it is accessible to visitors.